Please login or register. Welcome to the Studio, guest!

Quick Links:

newBookmarkLockedFalling

Chris

Chris Avatar

Head Coder

June 2005
This is more of a serious discussion topic.

What do you think makes a website/forum/blog/whatever truly great, original, unique, or active?

Is it the complex coding?
The stunning graphics?
The helpful staff?
The uniqueness/originality?
The detail or ammount of content/supplies?

What exactly is your opinion?

For me, its a combination of a few things. Since I'm not a designer, the design doesn't have to be extraordinary, but it helps if its good and clean. When it comes to the coding, I hope it never has any errors with it, and that it displays the same in all browsers (or at least FF and IE).

I also look for activity. If its new, I'll cut some slack and give it a try, but if it looks like it won't last long, or its not original. I don't really put any hope for it.

Originality is the biggest thing for me. None of the trendwhore stuff. Originality is much better, as long as it still looks good and is effective.

jongos

jongos Avatar

Male

December 2005
I think you need good content and a combo of good graphics and codes, because you could have beautifully coded site, but default everything and it would still have a default plain look and graphics need codes to implaced properly. Then the content is what its based on
Thanks, Kay!

Chris

Chris Avatar

Head Coder

June 2005
Well, that technically is true. The graphics and coding attract the members, the activity, and content is what should keep them.

Eric

Eric Avatar

November 2005
Let me tell you what I go over when I am at a site.

First thing is the impression I get from the design. If it is really good I will look around after I've finished going to the page I googled. If it is so-so, I'll read the page and be gone. If it is hideous, I leave the site instantly. I'm sorry but bright green and pink do not make a good site.