Please login or register. Welcome to the Studio, guest!

Quick Links:

newBookmarkLockedFalling

slip

slip Avatar
Chris spoils me!

Senior Studio Member

April 2006
www.apple.com/macosx/snowleopard/

Can they stop getting sexier all the time! :P

Chris

Chris Avatar

Head Coder

June 2005
See, the thing that gets me is: Why release a product that is slow that could be faster? It's not like the case of SZ where I was a novice developer and as I grew as a developer, my skills increased. Apple should really only have the best of developers (or damn good ones anyway.)

Either way, it does sound good... but were they saying it'll be 64-bit only support?

Josh

Josh Avatar
Where were you when Reach fell?

Legendary Studio Member

May 2008
Since all current Intel Macs are capable of 64-bit, why not? And this isn't about Leopard being slow because it's not. Snow Leopard is optimizing for the future. Just a bunch of back-end stuff. Stuff you'll never notice until you realize that four or five years from now your Mac from 2007 will be running just fine with the OS and software of tomorrow. I'm especially interested in the development of Grand Central. Also, Snow Leopard will be utilizing a new file management system from Sun - ZFS. Also, Snow Leopard will be able to utilize up to 16TB of RAM. That right there tells me that Snow Leopard could be in use for a decade and never be considered outdated.

webmaren

webmaren Avatar
Una salus vicits, nullam sperare salutem

Dedicated Member

August 2007
Josh Avatar
I'm especially interested in the development of Grand Central. Also, Snow Leopard will be utilizing a new file management system from Sun - ZFS. Also, Snow Leopard will be able to utilize up to 16TB of RAM. That right there tells me that Snow Leopard could be in use for a decade and never be considered outdated.

If you build it, they will come.