Please login or register. Welcome to the Studio, guest!

Quick Links:

newBookmarkLockedFalling

Llanilek

Llanilek Avatar
Former Elite Mod

Dedicated Studio Member

October 2005
I was just wondering,

This is mainly to the javascript guru's out there but something that has crossed my mind recently.

NB i want everyone's opinion on this not just js guru's

With all the rising of js libraries and frameworks such as jquery, scriptaculous, prototype etc... Do you think the javascript community has become lazy? would you experts rather write your own code or do you utilize these libraries and frameworks.

Is it really worth sacrificing time to learn the in's and outs of javascript when the likes of jquery can do practically everything you need in daily usage?

I personally love having the use of these, especially jquery it seems to have made a whole lot of difference to my coding ability. or am i just being lazy? lol.

JD

JD Avatar

June 2008
I am by no means an expert, but jQuery just saves so much time - and is easy to implement and use. Customization is also completely possible, so you can achieve you effects with relative ease.

If you want to learn more, go ahead and learn - but it'll be a long time until you master the level required to outdo jQuery. I'd just stick with what works.

Eric

Eric Avatar

November 2005
Occasionally I have to write custom code, but most of the time I'm using some library or another. It's good to know javascript thoroughly yourself though if you ever have clients, because you will constantly be running into whichever library they use, be it in-house or open source.

Michael

Michael Avatar
*Has a custom title*

October 2007
I was always up for developing things myself, however, I then got a request that explicitly required jQuery.. so I had to learn it... played with it and it's good.

I always thought it was a lazy man's way of doing something, but if all the cool kids use it, why not?

Eric

Eric Avatar

November 2005
Michael Avatar